Egypt had several capitals during its history. So in this interesting article, we will know the Islamic capitals of Egypt that are Al Fustat, Al-Askar, Al-Qata’i, and Cairo.

1) Al Fustat City

Al Fustat City was the first Islamic capital of Egypt. It is a part of Old Cairo. It was founded by Amr Ibn Al-Aas in 641 AD after the Muslims came to Egypt. Additionally, Amr Ibn Al-Aas built the first Mosque in Egypt and Africa which is Amr Ibn Al-Aas Mosque in it.  

Why did Amr Ibn Al-Aas choose this place to build Al Fustat city?

After Amr Ibn Al-Aas defeat the Roman in Egypt, he decided to build this city beside the Nile River and Babylon fort which was a unique strategic location that already fortified, in addition to the Muslims at that time were not good in sailing so they could not protect the northern coastal borders of Egypt where Alexandria (the capital of Egypt during the Roman period). 

Why this city was called Al Fustat?

Al Fustat is an Arabic word means the leader’s tent. The researchers said that during the Amr Ibn Al-Aas conquest of Egypt, the Islamic army stayed on the north of Babylon and established their tents, but when Amr Ibn Al-Aas came to remove his tent, he found that there was a dove built its nest upon it, so he refused to remove it and decided to take this place as a capital. 

What monuments can be visited in Al Fustat city?
When you visit Al Fustat city you can see Amr Ibn Al-Aas Mosque, old Cairo that contains the Hanging Church, the Cavern Church, the Coptic Museum, and Ben Ezra Synagogue.  

2) Al-Askar City

It was the second Islamic capital of Egypt. It was built during the Abbasid period at 751 AD. Al-Askar is an Arabic word means the soldiers. this city was established in the north of Al Fustat city. 

3) Al-Qata’i City

It was the third Islamic capital of Egypt. It was built during the Tulunid period by Ahmad ibn Tulun in 868 AD in the northeast of Al Fustat and Al-Askar on Yashkur Mountain.

Ahmad ibn Tulun was sent to Egypt by the Abbasid Caliph and decided to remain in Egypt and created his dynasty in 868.

What monuments can be visited in Al-Qata’i city?

When you visit Al-Qata’i city you can see the IbnTulun mosque and the Gayer-Anderson Museum (Bayt al-Kiritliya). 

4) Cairo City

Cairo was the fourth Islamic capital of Egypt. After the conquering of The Fatimids Egypt, the ruler Al-Mu’izz li-Din Allah commanded Jawhar Al-Siqilli to build Cairo city in 969 AD and dedicated as the capital of Egypt. Al-Mu’izz li-Din Allah named this city Al-Qahira (It is an Arabic word means the vanquisher). 

It was surrounded by walls that took the square shape. It was bordered on the east with the Nile River and the west by El Mokattam Mountain. 

What monuments can be visited in Cairo city?

When you visit Cairo city you can see several monuments from different Islamic periods such as Khan El Khalili Bazaar, Al Azhar Mosque, the Sabil-Kuttab of Abdel-Rahman Katkhud, Al Aqmar Mosque, Bayt Al Suhaymi or Al Suhaymi House, Bab Zuweila, Bab al Futuh, and Bab El Nasr.  

Explore Egypt Tours hope you enjoy reading about Egyptian history, and if you want to know more kindly submit on Cairo Day Tours